top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNix Muse

Style Beyond Trends


When I started exploring style again through thrift stores in the 2010's after so much time in my hardcore/metal scene uniform of black band tshirts, camo cargo shorts, hoodies, and trainers, I tried anything and everything. I had started to accumulate way way too many clothes. I wouldn't say I was thrifting with absolute abandon, but I was excited to try anything and see if I could make it "work." This led to a lot of finding out, after all that fuggin around. I found out what fabrics I'm not interested in. I found out what brands make clothes intended to fall apart and which make clothes that were intended to last. I still enjoy costuming myself in second hand finds, but the how and why to what I buy has been changing drastically in the last 5 years.


I find myself being drawn to natural fabrics over thin cheaply made synthetics. I often have a few linen or cotton pieces when I head towards the check out now. Things I can dye if I choose to. More often than not I am seeking out plain colors too, although I still add in a fun or interesting print.


What I'm seeking out now are clothes that will last me, things that I can adapt to my style over time, pieces I can alter when and if I choose to give a new life with small changes. I also have a goal to have a wardrobe that is 75% custom, home made, slow fashion/small batch items. What this means for me now is that I am identifying pieces in my wardrobe that I enjoy but maybe they were fast fashion and won't last, how can I recreate them with better quality fabrics and construction or how can I take the fabrics from them and create something different and better by combining it with something else and/or making something new entirely.


I am going to continue to focus on repurposing the clothing I have now or donating/giving away what I don't want while I simultaneously work to build up what I have with absolutely unique pieces. By focusing on my own personal style over current trends the clothing I buy needs to physically last longer because the "season" for it is much longer than seasonality in fashion trends.


While I've never been someone who was "up on the trends" ever in my life, realizing the persuit of it was a waste of not just my time and money but also of resources on the planet led me to realize I don't HAVE to change the way I do my makeup or how I style my hair or eyebrows to whatever is popular now bc I can lean into my own style. It changed so much for me, and now to see my path ahead of me to creating clothes and walking art that truly reflects who I am as a human being is the most reassuring feeling.

bottom of page